Business & Politics

NDC Flagbearer election: I’ll be happy if Mahama contests; my constituents want him to – Agbodza

The Minority Chief Whip Kwame Agbodza has said his constituents are yearning to see John Dramani Mahama contest for the flagbearer position of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) ahead of the 2024 general elections.

Asked to confirm whether or not Mr Mahama has declared his intention to the Minority to contest, Mr Agbodza who is lawmaker for Adaklu told TV3 on Tuesday, February 21 after making the views of his constituents known, that “I will be very happy if he does.”

Former President Mahama has reportedly declared his intention to contest in the flagbearer elections of the NDC to enable him to run for President in the 2024 general election if he wins the internal polls.

Media reports indicated that he made his intention known to the Minority in Parliament on Tuesday, February 21.

Meanwhile, the NDC has announced that all is set for the opening of nominations for the election of its Presidential candidate and Parliamentary Candidates for the 2024 General Elections.

As such, effective, midnight Wednesday 22nd February 2023, Nomination Forms for Parliamentary Candidates will be accessible to all persons for purchase on the official website of the party;, the main opposition party said in a statement on Tuesday, February 21.

The statement said nomination forms for Presidential aspirants can be obtained from the Office of the General Secretary at the Party’s Headquarters at Adabraka, Accra effective 8am tomorrow.

The Functional Executive Committee of the party has however put the opening of nominations for parliamentary primaries in some constituencies on hold. These constituencies are:

1. Ayawaso Central
2. Amasaman
3. Afram Plains South
4. Akwatia
5. Efutu
6. Gomoa Central
7. Amenfi East
8. Evalue Gwira
9. Assin North
10. Pusiga
11. Tarkwa Nsuaem
12. Ayensuano
13. Adansi Asokwa
14. Offinso North
15. Ahafo Ano North
16. Sekyere Afram Plains
17. Ahafo Ano South West (Aduagyman)
18. Bosome Freho
19. Asante Akim Central
20. Manso Adubia
21. Manhyia South
22. Subin
23. Fomena

The Functional Executive Committee will in due course announce the date for the opening of nominations in the above Constituencies,” the statement signed by General Secretary Fifi Kwetey said.

By Laud Nartey||Ghana

Back to top button